Once To Die

On September 8, 2022, England’s queen, Elizabeth II, passed from this life into the next. It certainly is a fascinating time that we live in, having seen the longest reigning queen and now, for many people, seeing the coronation of a new king. As I watched the news coverage of the events, several ideas came to my mind. Chiefly, the statement made in Hebrews 9:27, “As it is appointed unto man once to die, then comes the judgment.” While England, and the world, mourns the loss of their monarch, she still had the same outcome of this life as others before her and unless the Lord Jesus returns, you and I will also have…death. 

Death is not a respecter of persons. She may have been the queen, but death did not spare her any more than the faithful elder’s wife whose funeral Kristina and I attended on Friday. It has been said that death is the great equalizer of this life. So it is important that we prepare for that day. The news coverage said that each monarch prepares for their funeral, and we do as well…the songs, the venue, the speakers…but what I’m talking about is preparing to meet our God. 

Before our life is no more, we need to obey the gospel of Jesus Christ. This involves hearing and believing the message that is proclaimed about the work of Jesus Christ in saving mankind from our sins. It means that I want to change the way I’m living, turning my back on my old sins. Acknowledging that Jesus is going to be the Lord of my life, that He has total control. And then culminating with being immersed in water for the forgiveness of sins.

Before our life is now more, having once been baptized into Christ, we need to continually consider our work and faithfulness to the Lord. Has Christ and His church always come first in my life? Have I been faithful in following the pattern of love and service that Jesus left for me? If I find myself lacking in any of these things, a rededication of the heart and prayer to God is always appropriate.

It certainly is a sad time when anyone dies, from the queen to a poor pauper, but if I’m ready for the eternity that awaits, those left in my absence can take comfort in knowing that what they call hope, I can now call home. 

Leave a comment